Perceum was founded in 1987 by Jorge Camiruaga -head of the Percussion Department at the Music School of the University of Uruguay- to promote both the rich repertoire of new music especially written for percussion instruments in the twentieth century and the traditional rhythms and compositions of Uruguayan music. This ensamble also features percussionists Ricardo Gómez Antonich and Marcelo Zanolli, and has become one of the most interesting and stimulating options of the Uruguayan musical scene.

The ensamble has performed an enormous variety of works, ranging from the classic percussion repertoire to the latest Latin-American compositions -most of them Uruguayan premieres- at the most prestigious halls in Uruguay and abroad. It has also commissioned pieces from the most representative composers of their country. The group has appeared with guest soloists and conductors such as Ney Rosauro, Dave Samuels, Angel Frette, Mircea Ardeleanu, Jan Williams, Bernhard Wulff, William Moersch and with the Montevideo Symphonic Band.

has performed in many Uruguayan cities and in the Argentine cities of Rosario, Santa Fe and Buenos Aires. It has participated in several "Encuentros Latinoamericanos de Percusión", held in Santa Maria and San Pablo (Brazil) every two years. It has also performed at the "Percusiones de Latinoamerica" Festival in México City, at the "Ritmos da Terra" Festival in Campinas (Brazil), at the "Festival Internacional Cervantino" in Guanajuato (México) and at the "Musica Viva" Festival in Munich (Germany).

The ensamble's first and long awaited CD -released in 2000 by Ediciones Universitarias de Música- includes several works specially written for Perceum by some of the most prominent composers of Uruguay.

The Montevideo Percussion Ensamble has received grants from many local and international organizations such as the Uruguayan Society of Performing Artist (SUDEI), the Uruguayan Authors Association (AGADU), the National Music Fund (FONAM) and the Mikhasoff Trust for New Music. The group was nominated in 1993 for the Fabini Award as Best Chamber Music Group and they received the prestigious 1999 Morosoli Award for Artistic Achievement.

Spanish version